Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Citizen of the Year Finalists

Published on:


February 2016

The finalists to become Clackmannanshire Citizen of the Year have been announced.

June Anderson, Isa Blaine, Sandra & James Brown, David Gray, Janette McGowan and Keith Turner are the finalists. The winner of the award, which is sponsored by the Lord Lieutenant's Trust, will be announced at a ceremony at the Speirs Centre on 3rd March.

June Anderson is involved in many community activities including Tullibody, Cambus and Glenochil Community Council. June encourages others in her community to volunteer to help improve life for the local area.

Isa Blaine has been part of Clackmmananshire Pensioners for over 50 years, and has held a number of positions over that time. She helps to run tea bars for various events and raises funds for the organisations she supports.

Sandra & James Brown have fostered children for more than 25 years, providing a home for more than 150 young people. They have helped to children who have experienced difficult lives, and giving them support and guidance.

David Gray worked tirelessly to restore a memorial on Dumyat, erected by his father to remember POW colleagues who were forced to march to camps in Eastern Europe. David worked with individuals and organisations to complete the challenging work.

Janette McGowan has been deeply involved in community activities in Tullibody and the wider area. She has served the Community Council, Tullibody Healthy Living and the Delph Pond Forum and has helped to improve her local area.

Keith Turner has been involved in his local community in Sauchie for over 30 years. He has helped to deliver activities for all parts of his community, bringing together young and old to help improve their lives.

Provost Tina Murphy said: "This year's nominees show just how much hard work our volunteers put in to ensure that we all live better lives. Every nominee deserves our gratitude for their efforts."

The current Citizen of the Year is Christine Calder, in recognition of her work as a founder member of Tullibody History Group and for being instrumental in the opening of the Tullibody Heritage Centre.