Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Councillors and Council Officers Responsibilities and Remuneration

Councillors and Council Officers Responsibilities and Remuneration

The Council

The Council is run by councillors, who are elected by the local community. Councillors are responsible for making decisions on behalf of the local community about local services and budgets.

Each councillor represents a specific area and serves for a period of 4 years. The Ward responsibilities of a councillor includes

  • being available to help local people,
  • supporting local organisations,
  • campaigning on local issues,
  • developing links with all parts of the community.

You can view or download Elected Members' Remuneration, Allowances and Expenses. Councillors are entitled to allowances and expenses to cover some of the costs of carrying out their public duties. All councillors abide by a code of conduct, part of which requires them to declare any financial interests, gifts or hospitality that could influence any decisions they make.

For more information on our Councillors and their responsibilities, please visit our page entitled Clackmannanshire Wards and Councillors.

Committee Chairs

The Council's political balance was agreed at the meeting of 1st June 2017.

For information on Council meetings, you can view our Clackmannanshire Council's Committees page.

Council Staff

Whilst the elected councillors approve the policies, paid employees (council officers) put them into practice. The Council employs over 2,500 staff; these include school teachers, social workers and staff responsible for a wide range of services benefitting the local community.

Senior Management Team

The Senior Management Team is responsible for managing the activities of the Council staff and for advising councillors on the potential implications of political decisions.

By law, senior Council staff are not allowed to participate in any party political activity and are expected to advise and assist all councillors irrespective of their political affiliation.

  • Elaine McPherson, Chief Executive
    • Nikki Bridle, Depute Chief Executive
    • Garry Dallas, Executive Director
      • Celia Gray, Head of Social Services
      • Anne Pearson, Head of Education
      • Ahsan Khan, Head of Housing and Community Safety
      • Stuart Crickmar, Head of Strategy and Customer Services
      • Stephen Coulter, Head of Resources and Governance

The Chief Executive

Information on Clackmannanshire Council's Chief Executive, Elaine McPherson is contained on our Chief Executive's Responsibilities and Remuneration page.

Remuneration of Executive team

The table below provides information about the remuneration of the Chief Executive and other members of the Executive team. It also provides information about any additional payments they receive, such as reimbursement of business expenses or payment for running local elections. All managerial staff are subject to annual appraisal, and progression on the scale only happens if satisfactory progress is evidenced.

(in bands of £5,000 or actual)
Additional Payments
eg Expenses, Election fees etc
Elaine McPhersonChief Executive£99,048 
Nikki BridleDepute Chief Executive£84,045 
Garry DallasExecutive Director£84,045 


The Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS) covers council employees and some councillors. The LGPS is a contributory scheme; employees contribute 5.5% - 7.5% of their own salaries to the scheme.

Employers' contributions to the LGPS vary depending upon how much is needed to ensure benefits under the Scheme are properly funded, and are set independently.

The rules governing the pension scheme are contained in regulations made by Parliament.

For Further Information Contact

Communications & Community
Kilncraigs, Greenside Street, Alloa, FK10 1EB
Tel: 01259 450000